Domestic Violence in the Workplace
Workplace and Domestic Violence in Arizona
Domestic violence isn’t just something that occurs at home when there’s a fight. You can be brought up on domestic violence charges for something that happens at work too.
Remember, “domestic violence” is not a crime. It is an allegation or enhancement to a criminal act, such as assault or intimidation. It creates a much more serious situation around what might otherwise be a minor incident.
If the victim, typically a woman, feels threatened or intimidated at work, they can file charges of harassment. If this harassment comes from a romantic partner, it will quickly escalate to a domestic violence charge.
Besides the normal consequences of a domestic violence charge, you can face additional damages or punishment if the victim can show that you caused him or her to miss time at work or lose their job. A 2005 study showed that women experiencing domestic violence victimization reported an average of 7.2 days of work-related lost productivity, and 33.9 days in productivity losses associated with household chores, child care, school, volunteer activities, and social/recreational activities.
These types of reports will make a big impact on a jury and can result in a harsher penalty than you might otherwise receive if you are convicted of domestic violence.
Employers are concerned about domestic violence in the workplace because of the loss of productivity and the distraction such rumors and accusations can cause in the office. As a result, an employer or coworker may call the police and report a suspicion of domestic violence even if the victim does not.
Domestic Violence in the Workplace in Arizona: What to Do
If you’re accused of domestic violence in the workplace, the first step is to get an experienced domestic violence lawyer. Your life and freedom are at stake. While a first-time offender may only face a misdemeanor charge, it can still turn your life upside down. If there are additional circumstances, like threatening a victim at work, the charges may be even more serious.
Once you’re arrested, you’ll be banned from returning to the scene of the incident and be barred from contacting the victim. This may mean that you both can’t go to work and can’t go home. Obviously, this is a very difficult situation. If the victim chooses, they can tell the judge that they want you to be able to come home. However, if the victim is not willing to do this, it’s vital to obey the conditions. If you contact the victim or return to the scene, your release can be revoked, and you’ll be placed in jail.
Obtaining good counsel is another immediate concern. Having representation at the time of arrest or before seeing the judge can mitigate release conditions and prevent additional problems.
Any time there is a domestic violence in the workplace charge, you are risking jail time, a criminal record, and the possibility of losing your job. This is a risk no one should take. Don’t accept a public defender. They are so overworked they can’t give your case the attention it deserves. Instead, get an experienced domestic violence lawyer right away.
If you’re facing a domestic violence in the workplace charge, contact the law office of Howard A. Snader, LLC, right away. Howard has successfully defended thousands of DV cases with creative defenses that have been successful. Don’t enter the fight on your own. Call Howard Snader at 602-899-0408 for your free consultation today!