Home » All About Sex Offender Registration in Arizona
All About Sex Offender Registration in ArizonaHSnader2019-06-01T12:40:34+00:00
If you are facing charges for a sex crime in Arizona, you need to familiarize yourself with sex offender registration and how it can affect your life. You need to know what is expected of a registered sex offender and the consequences of failing to comply with the state’s requirements.
What crimes qualify an individual for sex offender registration?
Usual sexual offenses are:
Sexual assault of a spouse
Sexual conduct with a minor
Molestation of a child
Continuous sexual abuse of a child
Taking a child for the purpose of prostitution
Sexual exploitation of a minor
Infamous crimes against nature
Lewd and lascivious acts
Indecent exposure and public sexual indecency
How soon must a sex offender register after serving jail time?
A sex offender is required to register within 10 days after release. Failure to do so constitutes a class 4 felony and carries jail time of 3.75 years.
Who is responsible for registering sex offenders?
In Arizona, all sex offenders are registered by their respective local county sheriff.
What are other requirements for sex offender registration?
Sex offenders must annually update the sex offender registration with the Arizona Motor Vehicle Division. Failure to do so is a Class 6 Felony and has jail time of up to 2 years.
If I committed a non-sexual offense, can I be forced to register?
It is highly possible for a judge to order the offender to register as a sex offender if the offense is believed to be “sexually motivated.
When out-of-state residents visit Arizona, are they required to register?
Sex offenders who plan to visit Arizona for more than 10 days are required to register. They are also required to register as transients every 90 days with the county sheriff. Failure to do so is a Class 4 felony offense.
Are juvenile sex offenders required to register?
Juveniles are not expected to register as sex offenders in Arizona, even if the juvenile would have been required to do so especially if they committed the offense as an adult. Ultimately, It is the judge’s discretion to order sex offender registration of the juvenile when he or she turns 25.
How are sexual predators treated in Arizona?
Offenders identified as “sexual predators” in Arizona are held in the State Hospital. Once the offender finishes their jail time and scheduled for release, a review is conducted and the offender is evaluated for “violent sexual predator criteria”. Once established that the offender is indeed a violent sexual predator, the offender will be committed to the Arizona State Hospital and will only be qualified for an annual review to assess if the offender may be released to society. In which case, the label of “sexual predator” is removed.
Are all sex offenders prohibited from living near schools?
Sex offenders convicted of violent crimes should not reside within 1,000 feet of public schools or childcare facilities.
If you or someone you know failed to register as a sex offender in Arizona, it is strongly advised that you get in touch with our skilled Phoenix criminal defense lawyers at Howard Snader Law. We can evaluate your case and prepare all possible defenses.
Talk to our experienced criminal defense attorneys now.
Harsh AZ Criminal Sentencing Laws Want to go to jail? You’re in the right State! In the past couple of months, I have been inundated with people wondering why the Arizona laws are so harsh. The short answer is that our legislature has acted upon public opinion. And, politicians do not win [...]
With more than 23 years defending thousands accused of misdemeanors and felonies throughout Arizona and the Greater Phoenix area, I can assure you, IT WILL HAPPEN. At some point, you, a family member or friend will be investigated, charged, and/or subsequently prosecuted for a criminal offense. At [...]
It’s 2:30 a.m. and the phone rings. It’s the wife of a client telling you her husband has just been arrested, and they need immediate help. Whether the situation involves a charge of DUI, disorderly conduct, possession of drugs, misdemeanor or felony, this scenario plays out time [...]